The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

It’s been three weeks

It’s been three weeks since I was driving and singing along to the radio when I got the call. Today I’m driving back from the gym. Pharrell William’s ‘Happy’ is playing. It’s a tune I love. My boys love it too. When it comes on at home, we crank up the volume and break out in a happy dance. But I am alone now. I do not have to put up a happy front for the children. I cannot clap along. Because I’m not happy. Yes, I do feel like a room without a roof. But it is raining and I am getting drenched in grief and loss as the rain mingles with my tears. The room is flooding with memories of when he was here. He was just here. I know that happiness is the truth but it is not my truth right now. I want to be happy but I am not. I cannot be. This loss is too huge, too painful to be lifted by the lyrics of an upbeat song.

It’s been three weeks. My older son points out that people are no longer coming to visit. Not like the steady stream we had when we first heard the news. I nod and agree with him. I want to tell him that that’s the way life works. It goes on. I want to say that though people care, life must carry on. That even though this was a monumental shift in our paradigm, it was just a momentary blip in that of our friends, interrupting their lives albeit ever so briefly. I want to tell him that even though they may not be physically present, we are in their thoughts and prayers. But I don’t. It is too much to burden a 7-year old with. My decision proves right when our conversation segues into sharing memories about Granddad. He and his brother talk about how Granddad was so funny, how he laughed and made them laugh. I am sad but I smile. I am glad that in spite of the fact that he is gone, they have happy memories of their grandfather.

It’s been three weeks. I am forgetful and absent-minded, apathetic and lethargic. I forgot to attend my appointment with the dentist. I forgot to take my younger son to the dentist. I forgot to change the calendar page from January to February. It is like I am frozen in time. As if I cannot move beyond those heart-stopping minutes three weeks ago.

It’s been three weeks. And It’s been hard. I have tried to carry on because that’s what he would have wanted. But it’s been hard. Sometimes I am able to function normally because in doing so, I’m almost able to convince myself that it didn’t happen. That the pain I feel in my chest is imaginary. Other times, everything in me bucks at normal because life isn’t normal and I want everything to stop and acknowledge that it isn’t.

It’s been three weeks since I decided to go back home. My other home. The one I grew up in. I think of my trip and I begin to get excited. I look forward to getting together with the whole family. To being in the same room as all my sisters. To the raucous laughter as we regale and remind each other with and of tales of our escapades. To catching up on news of everyone and what they have been up to since we’ve been apart.

But then I remember why I am making the trip. And grief shoos the excitement out of my soul. I am going back home because my daddy died. I am going back home but I won’t be seeing my dad. And that hurts. Badly.

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “It’s been three weeks

  1. Wow…hang in there

  2. Ugonma Iroaganachi on said:

    So sorry for your loss, Nkem. It hurts so badly now, but God understands where you are at. Don’t hold back the grief, but remember that you have a blessed hope. You’ll miss him all your life but the pain will get better with time. Remember all he was to you and your siblings, laugh, cry, wail but celebrate his life, the values he inculcated in y’all – that no one can take away from you. Be strong for your mum. God bless you.

  3. Pele dear……praying comfort for you some more….muahugs!

  4. Still praying for you xx

  5. Hi. How are you holding up? Do go easy on yourself, take it one day at a time,ok? It gets a little easy with the passage of time. God bless you exceedingly, abundantly and always. Big hug

  6. This made tears well up in my eyes. My daddy passed on last May, the pain gets easier on some days, then it gets worse when happy memories emerge.

    One day at a time, I guess. *big warm hug from me to you*

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,821 other followers

