The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Where’s the time?

“Show, don’t tell.” “Set a writing schedule when you can write uninterrupted.” These and many more are the tips that roll off the lips of writing instructors. Good advice too. But where do I find the time?

I hear you say “If it’s important to you, you’ll make time for it” and that’s true. But when life gets in the way, school runs, household chores, jobs, family etc, it is extremely difficult to find or make the time.

I could stay up later or wake up earlier but truth be told, I barely get enough rest as it is. Having an active toddler is hard work, rewarding but hard work nonetheless. As I type this, I’m having to ward off his tiny fingers from ripping the keys off my keyboard.

I could write while he is napping but it’s all I can do sometimes to stay awake myself or simply catch up on chores which have gone undone while I keep him entertained and out of harm’s way.

It’s a challenge I struggle to overcome daily if I am to make something of my writing.

It is commonly said that everyone has a book in them. Frankly I wish mine would just jump out and imprint itself on to the blank pages of my word processor.

The mere thought of the work I have to put in to get a book written much less published floors me even before I’ve started.

How can I write a book of up to 30, 000 words when I struggle so hard to write just 500? How can I create a masterpiece that will leave the critics singing its praises when it’s such an effort to make sense of my six sentences?

Each day that I live is a gift and I really would like to make each one count. I really must not let the time run away with me accomplishing nothing.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with a step. I have taken the first few steps but then I tire so easily. I sit down to rest, and then I get distracted by the other people on the journey.

I feel as though I am on the threshold of something big but I can’t seem to step over and into it. I know there are obstacles in my way but they are not insurmountable. I must take that extra dose of courage and plunge into the task at hand, difficult as it may be.

There are no external factors like exams to force me to write so I must motivate myself in order to get ahead.

I really must put into practice the writing exercises I come across in my studying. They may well be the factors that propel me into the swing of things.

I have to be unafraid to start from scratch. Colonel Saunders didn’t give up and only found success when he was past his prime.

I must not give up before I’ve even started. The journey is long but I guess I only need to worry about taking the next step.

 The Wordsmythe

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Where’s the time?

  1. The key is taking it one day at a time. Remember, Rome wasn’t built in one day. Now get up and start writing your blog again.

  2. thewordsmythe on said:

    Hi Abidemi,
    I’m honoured you’ve been to read my erstwhile blog. This is no coincidence as I started writing again just yesterday after so long. I had my baby boy in May and my husband encouraged me to start again.

    I look forward to hearing from you again soon and thanks for the encouragement.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

