The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

How well do I write?

I see pictures in my mind. I can see events unfolding quite clearly, like a movie. All of my senses are engaged in the goings-on in my mind.

 

But I can’t articulate them in words. I am unable to transfer the images I see in my mind onto paper. I have extreme difficulty in giving others the opportunity to experience that which I have.

 

It’s like there’s a breakdown in communication between my brain and my fingers.

 

My best efforts are like a child’s first drawing, outlines, stick figures et al.

 

My struggle to bridge this gap takes me on a journey of research. I read other people’s work. I study tips and tricks on writing successfully. I write, or shall I say, attempt to write in the hope that eventually I will make the transition from just writing to creating.

 

I keep searching for that elusive utopian formula that will catapult me into the limelight but it remains just that, elusive and utopian.

 

Sometimes I worry that the drive to be successful is more about the fortune and fame I associate with it than the pleasure of fulfilling a passion. I’m not sure that’s necessarily a bad thing but I must be careful to balance things out.

 

I find it instructive that some people are such good writers that even their rambling thoughts make for great reading. I guess it isn’t really the thoughts that matter as much as how they are conveyed. I am fascinated by the way in which some people are able to write so eloquently. I find myself thinking I could have written similarly but don’t actually succeed in doing so.

 

I am determined not to let my failure so far to deter me from the goal. I know that persistence will yield results and it is only a matter of time and dedication before the sweet taste of success is mine.

 

A wise friend of mine once said that we sometimes spend so much time learning to do something that we don’t have time to actually do the thing. I found that funny yet so apt.

 

It is good to study about writing and how to do it but I must not expend all my energy and time on that to the exclusion of actually writing. Adopting Nike’s tagline, ‘Just do it’, would be a good thing right now.

 

I sometimes think that because I want my work to be best-selling, I am reluctant to write just anything thereby detracting from the process of the eventual goal. I must rid myself of this mentality and get on with the business of writing. Success may not come from my first attempt but that attempt in itself brings me a step closer to success.

 

I seem to keep looking to the future but I must start right here, right now. This is the only time I have. Now is the time to crack on; not tomorrow, not next week but right now.

 

PS This is another one from the archives written on the 21st of August 2007, our 3rd wedding anniversary.

 

Single Post Navigation

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

