The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Writing again

 

 

I’ve been ill with morning sickness. I have been totally incapacitated and barely able to sit up much less do any writing.

 

I despaired that I would never write again as I had no clue how long the sickness would go on for. Also the very fact that the end of result of the pregnancy is a baby means finding the time to write will prove something of a major challenge.

 

Thankfully, even though not 100%, I feel much better now and more prepared to take up the challenge of writing again.

 

Does this mean the writing will come easier to me? I wish!

 

It just means I have to get back into the habit of writing regularly, apply all the tips I’ve learned and get on with it.

 

It’s so easy to blame circumstances for one’s procrastination or complete avoidance of a task but I refuse to do that. My inability to write was due to circumstances beyond my control but now I feel more in control, I’m getting back on top of things.

 

Even as I write this piece, I struggle to find thoughts that will stretch to 500 words and will probably start to ramble a bit just to get there. However, I must remember that the aim of this exercise is to get me into the habit of writing regularly not necessarily to produce an award-winning piece.

 

The word count feature of Microsoft Word is a close companion of mine on this writing journey. I consult it quite regularly (too much I must admit and that is an indication of how slowly the writing comes along).

 

I ought to get back to working on my novel. That will give me some meat to sink my teeth into. By the time I work on the characterisation, plot etc, I would have a fair bit of work to do.

 

I really admire some other people’s ability to write about their day-to-day experiences with humour. I would love to be able to do the same. Write pieces that will bring people eagerly back to my blog everyday.

 

I will continue to aspire to this lofty goal and trust that with perseverance and persistence, I will achieve it sooner rather than later.

 

I have to hone that invaluable skill which all writers must possess, observation. The world around me provides innumerable ideas for writing and I must try to avail myself of what nature provides.

 

I know I’m just going on and on but this is my first foray back into the minefield of writing so I’m just getting my groove back on.

 

Today is Tuesday the 9th of October 2007, my first day back after an almost 6-week hiatus. It is my hope that by the 31st of October, I would have compensated for my time away by writing several pieces that I will be pleased with and also handed in assignment 5.

 

It is an ambitious goal but nothing ventured, nothing gained.

 

Tara for now,

 

The Wordsmythe.

 PS This was written on the 9th of October 2007

 

It is the 22nd of September 2008 today and this an addendum.

 

“Have you written anything today?” That’s a question my husband asks on a regular basis and sadly my response has so far been in the negative.
I’m not going to give the lame excuse of not having time because I know that I would find the time if I set my mind to it. I can’t say I have nothing to write about because that wouldn’t be true either. My everyday life is rife with great subject matter.
Truth is I’m just being lazy and kind of burying my head in the sand. If I don’t think about the fact that I’m not writing then perhaps it won’t be such an issue.

I don’t really understanding why I’m being so silly though as I really enjoying the creative process that writing is. How can I enjoy it so much yet not indulge more often? The mind boggles.

I like to think that writing is my craft and words, my tools however I must admit that my craftmanship leaves a lot to be desired at the moment. Those tools are rusting in the toolbox and I’m in danger of ‘losing it’ since I’m not ‘using it’.

Ok, this is me dusting my hitherto unused tools and honing my craft. Wish me luck.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Writing again

  1. Good to see all this stuff online! Have enjoyed reading it all. Don’t you dare stop writing!

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

