The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

“I don’t want to miss a thing”

Mo Cushla hates going to bed, especially at weekends and heaven forbid he should have a nap in the day even when he’s exhausted. I, on the other hand, love my sleep and enjoy going to bed at night. A daytime nap whenever I get a chance is a bonus especially with having to wake up several times a night to attend to the children. As a result, I find it particularly difficult to understand why anyone wouldn’t want to do the same.

 

Several times I’ve caught him snoozing on the couch but when I ask him to go and lie down, he tells me he’s not sleeping!

 

He told me that when he was growing up, whenever it was bedtime, his mother used to say in response to his protests that he wasn’t sleepy, “don’t close your eyes; just lie down.” By the time she went to check on him a few minutes later, he would be fast asleep.

 

This weekend I was teasing him about not seizing the chance to catch up on sleep while me and the children napped and he started to sing the chorus of Aerosmith’s ‘I don’t want to miss a thing.’

 

I don’t wanna close my eyes
I don’t wanna fall asleep
‘Cause I’d miss you, babe
And I don’t wanna miss a thing
‘Cause even when I dream of you
The sweetest dream will never do
I’d still miss you, babe
And I don’t wanna miss a thing’

 

He explained that because he’s at work so long, he wants to stretch out his time at home with the family as long as he possibly can. So going to sleep early or early-ish would mean he was missing out on that time.

 

I was touched as I thought it really sweet.

 

I still can’t imagine not taking every opportunity that arises to catch up on my much-needed sleep but I can now understand better why he doesn’t.

 

The only problem is this trait appears to be hereditary. WEO is exactly the same and he’s only two! He keeps coming out of his room at bedtime giving every excuse he can think up;

 

1.      “I’m tired (you would imagine that should keep him in bed not bring him out)

2.      “I wee wee”

3.      “I’m hungry” (having already had dinner)

4.      “Lie down Daddy’s/Mummy’s shoulder”

To name just a few.

 

EDU is just 5 months old so still needs a good snooze at regular intervals in the day. However he won’t go down without a fight. When you put him in his cot, he moans and whines for a little while before giving in to the inevitable.

 

Well, while the men in my life may consider sleep an exercise for the weak and infirm, I love my sleep and will continue to grab every chance I can to get some.

 

Sleep rocks! Bring on bedtime!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on ““I don’t want to miss a thing”

  1. I feel you, sis….you know I’ve seen them in action! You forgot to add one of WEO’s favourites….”water” – when he has a cup of water by his bedside!(or has he moved on from that?) Cant wait to hear EDU’s excuses once he begins to chatter like his big bro! Anyways, what do you expect, your boys are a chip off the old block….lucky you, you have 3 brave men watching over you (or more like disturbing you?) while you are asleep.
    Sadly, I am missing all of the action in my lil boys’ lives……

  2. The wordsmythe on said:

    I know, my dear, I completely forgot about him asking for a drink. He now asks for juice instead. Let’s hope they all grow out of it.

  3. The Writer on said:

    Dear Wordsmythe,

    Are you kidding me with this ‘not wanting to miss a thing’ stuff? Abeg, everything will still be there when I wake up! 🙂

    I agree with you that sleep rocks. You know you cannot possibly savour the pleasure more than I do…

    …great to see you writing. I am slowly starting to get my groove back too. Keep it up.

  4. Like you I totally LOVE my sleep. They say you can’t catch up on sleep but it isn’t true, I certainly do.
    My 5 YO’s excuses:
    Mum you haven’t prayed with us
    Mum read us a story
    Mum my medicine (for a cold that passed 2 months earlier)
    Mum you said I should remind you about the note to my teacher…and on he goes

  5. thewordsmythe on said:

    Pawpawandmango,

    Thanks so much for stopping by.
    Thankfully things have changed since I wrote this post, at least with the kids.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

