The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

25 random things

It’s been way too long since I updated this blog.

In my opinion it’s not how many times you fall over that matters but how many times you get up and start over again. So here I am, picking myself up and starting over again.

I am a facebooker (allow me the poetic licence to coin the term). I enjoy reading friends’ statuses (the plural of  ‘status’ looks and sounds really strange but trust me, it’s correct).

I like looking at photo albums of old school mates and long-lost friends to see what they look like these days. I hate having to download applications for ‘so-and-so sent you a hug’ etc so I don’t as I consider them a waste of time and bytes.

In the last couple of weeks or so, there’s been an exercise titled ’25 random things’ making the rounds. As the title suggests, you reveal 25 things people may or may not know about you in a note and then ‘tag’ 25 friends who in turn have to do the same.

A few days ago, I decided to carry out the exercise myself. I wrote the first two facts; My faith is important to me and how much I love language and words and then I hit a wall…… I was stumped. I couldn’t think of anything interesting or humourous  to write about myself myself.

I was suffering a severe case of writer’s block. The writing juices in my brain had gone rock solid as they hadn’t been given a chance to flow in a while. I must admit to being ever so slightly depressed by this development.

I showed Mo Cushla what I’d written and asked him for ideas. He suggested I work my way from personal to family to work but that didn’t help much. He then showed me what he’d written ( he hasn’t uploaded it to FB yet) and I was in awe.

He seemed to have created this witty repertory of fun and amazing facts about himself. It read like something your favourite newspaper columnist would write; an endearing blend of self-deprecating wit, levity and bite-sized tidbits of his life.

I’ve always wondered how some people just seem able to create such interesting pieces of writing as it doesn’t usually come easy to me. I guess practice would have a great deal to do with it as the more the you do something, the easier it becomes. Now here’s a lesson for me!

Needless to say, I’ve been inspired by Mo Cushla’s and will be working very hard to try and produce something half as good. So if you’re on my FB friend list, watch this space!

Tara for now,

The wordsmythe.

Single Post Navigation

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

