The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

“It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life…”

It’s Friday morning. As I sit on the sofa writing this, my older boy, WEO,  is leaning on my arm watching CBeebies and the other, EDU, is doing roly-polies over my legs which are propped up on a footstool. Mo Cushla is out, working hard to bring home the bacon.

There are shreds of ripped-up magazine pages all over the floor. EDU, who turns 2 in a couple of months, is going through the paper-shredding phase so in a bid to stop him ripping any and everything, I gave him a magazine I would have chucked in the recycling bin. His older brother who is going to be 4 in three months, is also reliving that stage of his development. So we have enough pieces to make a nice collage. Someday, not today. Today I’ll write.

Before today, the above scenario would have been an excuse not to write as it’s quite a feat to type with about 19kg of boundless energy leaning on your arm and another 11+kg on your legs but this is my reality and in the spirit of ‘no more drama’, I’m getting on with it anyway.

I’m a mum of young children who also aspires to write successfully. This is my life at the moment and I’m loving it. If J. K Rowling could write in a café while her baby daughter slept in her buggy and make such a success of it, so can I.

So here’s my daily dose of silly ditties.

Amidst the chaos, I’ve rediscovered my muse

Here sipping on cacaos, my mind is enthused

About endless possibilities of things to achieve,

Enhancing my abilities and of words to concieve

Blank pages to fill, great ideas to develop

May take ages to hone skill, and time, will envelope

But a worthwhile venture it certainly is

Though it make take a while, some day it’ll be on the best-selling list.

Tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on ““It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life…”

  1. justjoxy on said:

    I’ve found that I expend more energy thinking about the fact that I have not written than the actual energy that it takes to write, if you catch my drift. We’ll get there some day by His grace.

  2. thewordsmythe on said:

    It’s actually quite paralysing and defeatist.

    Amen to that.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

