The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

‘Demob happy’

This is what I am. That’s what Mo Cushla says at any rate.

Lately we seem to be having different conversations at the same time.  He tells me one thing, I hear something else. Later I ask him about the self-same thing he already told me about and deny any knowledge of him having told me. Then I refer to something I think I’ve told him about but he seems to have no clue what I’m on about.

He accused me of being ‘demob happy’. Not an expression I can claim to have heard before. So I asked him to explain. He sent me a link from Wikipedia. Below is an excerpt from the page;

Demobilization is the process of standing down a nation’s armed forces from combat-ready status. This may be as a result of victory in war, or because a crisis has been peacefully resolved and military force will not be necessary.

The phrase demob happy refers to demobilization and is broadly applied to the feeling of relief at imminent release from a time-serving burden, such as a career.

We’re going on holiday soon. I’m excited about it. We’ve been planning this trip for a while and it’s almost here so I’m really excited. I know I said that already, it just goes to show how excited I am. Ok, I’ll stop belabouring the point, I’m sure you get the picture.

Anyway, Mo Cushla is of the opinion that as a result of my excitement, I’m in a different zone so I’m ‘demob happy’.

I like the expression. I like it a lot. There are much worse ways to describe my state of mind, and a few choice words come to mind, but ‘demob happy’ is quite positive. So I like it.

Besides I’ve learnt a new expression and will be keeping my literary eyes and ears wide open for a chance to casually slip into a conversation. So watch this space.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “‘Demob happy’

  1. justjoxy on said:

    Wish you could pack me in your suitcase! Enjoy.

  2. thewordsmythe on said:

    I will be thinking of you when we are in warmer climes ;o)

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

