The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Nigerian authors

I love books. I enjoy reading. I blogged about my love of books and reading  here so I’m not going to do it again.

Anyway every now and again, I browse bookshops and amazon.co.uk to see what’s out there. I heard about a book titled ‘In my dreams, it was simpler’ written collectively by a group of bloggers headed by Tolulope Popoola, via a blog so went to amazon.co.uk to check it out.  Whilst doing this, I noticed several other titles by Nigerian authors.

I had no idea we had so many contemporary writers from Nigeria. I’m not sure what that reveals about my knowledge of the literary advancement Nigerians are making but I’m ashamed to admit that the forecast doesn’t look good.

Of course, the more prominent and award-winning Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie featured quite a bit but then there was a long list of less popular authors including Abidemi Sanusi (Kemi’s journal, God has daughters too, Zack’s story),  Helon Habila (Waiting for an Angel), Chika Unigwe (On Black Sisters’ Street), Sarah Ladipo Manyika (In Dependence), Myne Whitman (A heart to mend) and Sefi Atta (Everything good will come). This is by no means an exhaustive list and I would encourage you to check out the Amazon websites to look up many more.

It’s so encouraging to see all their names in print knowing that they’ve all overcome various challenges to achieve this.

I find that reading helps a lot in the writing process. For me it opens my eyes to different writing styles, improves and increases my vocabulary, gives me fodder for ideas and opens up whole new perspectives I’d not previously considered.

I have put some of these titles in my shopping basket (I’ve read some of them already) and I’m awaiting a windfall to actually purchase them. By the way, Amazon.co.uk does gift tokens so if you are feeling generous or would simply love to help me on my writing journey, feel free to purchase me a few. When I become a famous and award-winning author, you could say “I knew her when she was just starting out.” That could be your claim to fame.

In the meantime, while I wait on that windfall, or your generosity, I’ll endeavour to keep writing.  Please keep reading and commenting.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Nigerian authors

  1. Lola Sotinwa-Adedoyin on said:

    Well done for pursuing your passion with vigour.

    On the amazon.co.uk thing, why don’t you create a wish list and put the stuff you need on there. I find it helps me a lot when choosing gifts for people – I search for their name and if they have created a wish list, it’s easy to just purchase and have it sent to them…

    • Hi LSA,

      Thanks so much for visiting and your kind words.

      I know about the wish list but don’t bother because I didn’t know that people like you trawl through looking for whom to gift. So off I am right now to create that list. It’s my birthday in November but early presents are welcome ;o)

  2. Margaret Thacker on said:

    My dear you are such an inspiration. I use the word inspiration because I am a great reader and writer myself and seeing you take the bold step to put your writings for all to see and make comments is bold, brave and inspiring.

  3. Margaret,

    I really appreciate your comment. Hope you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read so far.
    Please come back again and again. xx

  4. When I became serious with my writing last year, it was also a bit of an eye opener how many contemporary Nigerian writers there are. I have read more of them now and many are quite good. I look forward to reading more from you.

  5. Myne,

    You and the others are trailblazers. It is my hope and prayer that I, too, will someday soon, join the ranks of your great company.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Thanks for checking us out on Amazon. True, there are many young Nigerian authors coming up now, which is a good thing.

    Reading is essential for every writer, it is one of the ways to keep improving your craft. Hope you continue to read and write!

  7. I’m just getting to be serious with my writing. It is also amazing to find what I can become. But I need help, encouragement. I may not have enough social background but painting imaginary pictures is even more interesting, I can paint and repaint to satisfaction. We can always do better.

  8. @ In my Dreams, I’m ever so sorry for not acknowledging or replying to your comment, such bad blogville manners!
    It was a pleasure read an excerpt from your book and I look forward to reading it in its entirety.

    Thanks for your encouragement.

    @ Ikenna, thanks for stopping by and I wish you every success with your writing.

  9. Good Day,

    This is a former and special invitation. We hereby humbly invite you to be one of our Governing Council and Member of the Quiz Organizers Association of Nigeria. We represent a body of quiz in Nigeria and at the International level since we became members of the International Quizzing Association (IQA).

    We have a vision to educate the people and one of many ways we could achieve this is through quiz.

    Our objectives, vision and Mission Statement is enclosed in our proposal which we could forward to you on request via print or electronic format as soon as possible. Waiting to read from you soon.

    Thanks and God Bless.

    Ezekiel.

    National Coordinator.

    Contact: nigerianquizassociation@yahoo.com or 07035497092

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

