The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Where’s all the time gone?

It seems like just a few days ago since we got back from Nigeria but it’s actually almost a month. The time has just flown by and I still haven’t managed to write about our Nigerian experience.

Since we’ve been back, we found out WEO got accepted into his first choice of primary school and starts in September. I can’t believe my little boy will be going to big school!

EDU turned 2 last week and started at his big brother’s nursery days a week. He’s taken to it like a duck to water.

I got a bike. I love it. It’s a GT Transeo 3.0 women’s hybrid bike with a 24-speed (I think) gear system and powerful disc brakes. If you’re wondering why I’m excited about what seems to be a pretty standard feature on most bikes now, well forgive me. The last time I owned a bike, it was a hand-me-down from my older sister over 20 years ago and didn’t have any gears at all.

I’ve decided to up the exercise ante and enjoy the lovely British weather (that is whenever it decides to grace us with its presence) by cycling to and fro the gym and the kids’ school. So I also got a double bike trailer to pull them in whilst riding. I also intend to cycle the many cycle paths that the lovely countryside where we live has to offer.

The eligible voting public of the United Kingdom turned out en masse to vote on the 6th of May but we ended up with a hung parliament for the first time since 1929! However we now have a Conservative – Liberal Democratic coalition government with David Cameron (aged 43) as the youngest ever British Prime Minister in 198 years.

On the same day the UK was gearing down for a change in government, the death of the Nigerian president, Umaru Yar’Adua, was announced. He’d suffered a chronic kidney condition for several years. However he’d been out of the public eye since November 2009 whilst he was treated for pericarditis (inflammation of the lining around the heart) in a hospital in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. He was never seen alive again so it’s anyone’s guess as to when he really died.

Hopefully the next post you read will be about our trip to Nigeria.

Tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Where’s all the time gone?

  1. justjoxy on said:

    Cycling? Yay! And gym? Well done. I’ve been thinking about joining the gym, this might be the motivation I need 🙂

  2. Yes oh! I walked the boys to school this morning (they rode their bikes) and then cycled to the gym and back.
    I’m feeling quite chuffed with myself.

    Go ahead and join a gym, but only if you are committed to going regularly otherwise it’s money down the drain.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

