The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Beauty in the eye of the beholder

I don’t know if it’s me who needs my sight checked or if some people are just good liars!

I go on Facebook quite regularly and I particularly enjoy looking at photographs people put on. Sometimes you can even look at photographs of people who are not your friends as long as a friend of yours has been tagged in or comments on one of them. Some people insist on posting photographs of every event they attend but I don’t complain, it’s their prerogative.

What I have a problem with is when I see a particularly bad photograph of someone and then read the comments like “Beautiful,” “Lovely”, “Oh so pretty” or something equally inane or untrue. I don’t get it; I really don’t. I have to take a second, third and sometimes up to umpteenth look at the photograph to see if I’ve missed something the commentator saw. I even go as far as showing Mo Cushla and asking his candid opinion – his usually mirrors mine, go figure!

At the risk of sounding really nasty even if someone kneed me in the groin, grabbed me by the scruff of the neck, slammed me against a wall and held a gun to my head, I’d still be hard pressed to compliment some of the photos.

Don’t get me wrong, I have had some really bad photographs taken of me or shall I say I have not always come out looking like a supermodel but I don’t go posting those photos in the public domain, heaven forbid! Worse still, even if I did, I would hope my friends would have a quiet word in my ear and appeal to my good sense as they gently encourage me not to afflict the public with them rather than laud the monstrosity.

This, to me, is akin to those hapless  X-Factor / American Idol / Britain’s got talent et al contestants who can’t sing to save their lives. When I watch them perform, the first thing that comes to my head is “Their friends and family must be really mean to let them believe they were good enough to perform in front of an audience without really advising them to seek other past times.” The next thing that comes to mind is they probably don’t have any friends or family. Anyway that was a digression but it was necessary to buttress my point.

Please, please, please, if your friends post naff photos of themselves, do not comment except you intend to tell them they look naff in them!

Rant over. Thanks for reading.

Tara for now

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Beauty in the eye of the beholder

  1. True Life….My colleague told me about her sis-in-law who had lost so much weight shortly after the birth of her child, so much so that she looked sickly…..and her pics on fb got comments like….sexy!, wow….u look good! etc. Sad part was that same friends called her afterwards to ask her if she had been ill!!!

    I think people feel the need to make comments just to ‘feel among’. Whatever the reason is, i think it is so ANNOYING!!!

  2. Kaodi, it’s nice to know I’m not the only one who finds this annoying.

  3. Eloquently put, I am in total agreement. How come you left out the ‘like’s?

  4. Joxy, I completely forgot about those equally annoying ‘like’s.

  5. Lola, even a person who was blind from birth and suddenly received their sight back would not consider any of those photos something to rave about.

  6. Chisa Ugoji on said:

    What I do not appreciate is people posting very bad pictures of you without your knowledge. Now I am very picky about who I let take pictures of me becuase you know where its going, FB!

  7. njide egbuna on said:

    this is so funny, my sentiments exactly until I remind myself that truly, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. One man’s meat, another man’s poison?

  8. Njide, too true however, one does have to wonder what their definition of beauty is!

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

