The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Morbid thoughts

The thought of death evokes a gamut of emotions across the human race. Emotions ranging from fear and fright to cheer and delight, however the former seems to be the more prevalent case.

Some people believe that the less you think and speak of it, the less likely it is to come your way. For such people writing a will is out of the question as this is thought to be an open invitation to the grim reaper.

There are many superstitions and beliefs about death. It is at the centre of most religions and cultures around the world.

The preoccupation with and angst towards death can be put down to its inevitability but even more importantly to the ambiguity of what comes after it.

I believe in an after-life; heaven and hell. It may seem irreconcilable that a loving God would allow His creation to burn in hell for eternity but it’s not, at least I don’t believe it is. From what I understand, we all are given a chance to be beneficiaries of God’s goodness but if we choose to spurn His advances, we only have ourselves to blame.

I subscribe to AWAD (A word a day). The daily emails include a word (usually based on a weekly theme), its  meaning, phonetic pronunciation, etymology and an example of usage usually in the form of  a quotation. They also contain a thought for today.

Today’s word was ‘verdigris’. Since it has nothing to do with this post, I’ll let you find out yourself what it means. What does have something to do with today’s post is the thought for today. It is to do with death. I don’t know if I agree with it in its entirety but there is some merit to what William Hazlitt (essayist 1778-1830) had to say.

“Perhaps the best cure for the fear of death is to reflect that life has a beginning as well as an end. There was a time when you were not: that gives us no concern. Why then should it trouble us that a time will come when we shall cease to be? To die is only to be as we were before we were born.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks for stopping by.

Tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Morbid thoughts

  1. Nkem, this is a nice write-up on death. I like the way you included the message on ‘life after death’. I agree with William that to die is only to be as we were before we were born. We do need to concern ourselves, though, with where we will be when we die.
    I will take the challenge and check for the meaning of ‘verdigris’.

  2. Njide Egbuna on said:

    I’m glad I stopped by. Death has been on my mind,,not mine I hasten to add!

  3. Njide, this made me smile. I hope you are well.

  4. I already knew the meaning of verdigris. Or al least what it is. Oh well…

  5. Njide Egbuna on said:

    You write so beautifully, straight from the heart, always a pleasure to stop by. Am glad we’v moved on from “Nigeria at 50” though!. Had logged on a few weeks back with my Social Media students…I was still reading Nigeria at 50 :).

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

