The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Too tired to think

I’ve been sitting here for a couple of hours trying to write something, anything but sadly nothing comes to mind.

It’s been one of those really busy days, I’ve barely had any time to myself. I dropped the kids off at their respective schools, taught three classes back to back, did some banking, some grocery shopping and cooked dinner for friends. Then it was back to pick the kids up, off to the dentist for a routine check and then back home to welcome three other children for a play date.

They played while I caught up with their mums who also happen to be my friends. Then it was dinner, a shower for the four older children after which they left and I put mine to bed. I tidied up and then sat down to write. Sadly I’ve had no epiphany, no ground-breaking, mind-blowing, earth-shattering, epoch-making revelations to communicate. All I have to offer is this silly rhyme. Enjoy!

I sat down to write

To reveal deep insight

But I’m just so tired

I think my brain’s retired

I stared at the screen

Hoping to glean

Inspiration from its glare

Then gave up in despair

I’m writing this rhyme

To make up the time

Not hoping for much

Just trying to stay in touch

I’m now calling it quits

So as to rest the wits

And hope the elusive muse

Will awaken from it’s snooze.

Tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Too tired to think

  1. Nice poem, Nkem.

  2. Nice!!!

    After such a busy day, its only fair to expect the brain to take a break…..so i must say well done!!!

  3. For someone who thought she had nothing to say, very nice. Well done for pushing through the barrier and coming up with this 🙂

  4. Great poem!

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

