The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

About a book

Yesterday I went into London for an exhibition. I had been asked by the operations director of my organisation to help man a stand at the BDC Exhibition Centre, Islington.

I decided to take the train as I would be there all day and the parking costs would amount to a small fortune. I was very excited about the train journey as it would afford me the chance to start on the sequel to Francine Rivers’s Her Mother’s Hope titled Her Daughter’s Dream. I polished off the first 80 pages in the 45 minutes it took to get to King’s Cross Station. It was such a riveting read I barely looked up from the pages till the train pulled into the stop. The train could have diverted to Kathmandu and I would have been none the wiser.

The nearest tube station to my final destination was Angel which is just one stop from King’s Cross. I decided to quickly read a few more pages while on the tube. Bad idea! I was so engrossed in the story that I didn’t realise when we pulled into Angel until seconds before the doors shut. I flew out of my seat like an Olympic athlete doing the long jump and barely missed the closing doors as I launched myself and my rucksack on to the platform.  Phew! It was a really close shave!

I spent most of the day, bar a lunch break, on my feet, giving out leaflets for my organisation and explaining what we do and how the service could be beneficial to them.  I was shattered by the time 4pm rolled round and the one bright spot for me was the train ride back and being able to read some more of the fantastic tale Francine Rivers weaved. By the time I got to my station, I had read up to page 180.

Having had such a long, tiring day, I thought I would doze off within minutes of going to bed but the book kept calling to me. After debating the wisdom of picking it up again at past 11pm, I rationalised that I would only read a few pages then go to sleep. Who was I fooling besides myself? The next time I checked the time it was almost 3.00am and I was on page 493!

At this point, I gave into conventional wisdom and went to sleep. I finished off the last 70 odd pages this morning and I can’t recommend the books enough. Francine Rivers is such an artful story-teller. Her characters stay with you long after you finish the story.

I would say this is Francine Rivers at her best but it wouldn’t be totally true. She is always at her best and kudos to her for once again delivering such a brilliant saga spanning four generations. It my hope to someday write just as well.

On another note, I’d like to wish my friend, JustJoxy, a very happy birthday. I tried to write you a poem but it wasn’t flowing so I gave up and instead I’m borrowing the words of the well-known song, Forever Young.

May God bless and keep you always
May your wishes all come true
May you always do for others
And let others do for you
May you build a ladder to the stars
And climb on every rung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

May you grow up to be righteous
May you grow up to be true
May you always know the truth
And see the lights surrounding you
May you always be courageous
Stand upright and be strong
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

May your hands always be busy
May your feet always be swift
May you have a strong foundation
When the winds of changes shift
May your heart always be joyful
And may your song always be sung
May you stay forever young
Forever young, forever young
May you stay forever young.

Bob Dylan (Source: http://www.lyricsfire.com)

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “About a book

  1. Brilliant…I have a Francine Rivers book on my TBR list and i’m waiting for a time when i’ll have no distractions. It’s time to book a holiday i think. LOL.

  2. Amen my dear friend, thanks so much 🙂

  3. Pingback: Taking the plunge, posting every week in 2011. | Justjoxy's Blog

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

