The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Sometimes the words come out wrong

So much I want to say

With each passing day

My heart heaves with words unspoken

But the link from heart to mouth is broken.

I try to voice my opinion

In a world where words have dominion

Yet those same words elude me

And therein lies the key.

Verbs, nouns, adjectives and adverbs

Rush around wildly on my mind’s kerbs

Stopping suddenly as they get to the highway

Content to remain ineffective on the byway.

I know the feelings I wish to express

Deep yearnings within me, to profess

Longing to be heard, I open my mouth

And that’s when things all head south.

I hear the words as I speak

But they’re not the ones I seek

They don’t convey what I truly mean

Nor anything else in between.

It is then I wish you could look into my mind

For the true intent, there you will find

And though the words come out wrong

You’ll see that I meant well all along.

So please don’t judge me by the first words I say

They don’t always the true state of mind, portray

Give me another chance to get it right

They usually sound much better in hindsight.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Sometimes the words come out wrong

  1. Good one. Nkem. We should remember this poem when politicians are campaigning for office! ‘They don’t convey what I truly mean, nor anything else in between!’

  2. This poem captures exactly how I feel most times. I often that my brain is too fast for my mouth. I know what I want to say, but the words…they fail me. Like it fails me now as I read this poem and fall in love with what I read. Since words fail me yet again, I “wish you could look into my mind for the true intent, there you will find, and though the words come out wrong, You’ll see that I meant well all along” (LOL)

  3. I think we’ve all felt like this at one point or the other. I know I have. Nice one…

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

