The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

No pain, no gain

I’ve just got back from a 5-mile bike ride. It may not sound like much compared to Mo’Cushla’s 24-mile ride the other day, but when you’ve not done any formal workouts for about 6 months or more, it sure is something.

I cancelled my gym membership last month because I haven’t been since the latter months of last year. I prefer to get a workout first thing in the morning but with increased work commitments in the mornings, I have been unable to go. And after having jumped around with children for a couple of hours at work, the last thing on my mind is to go to the gym!

So instead of paying all that money to the fitness centre whilst not actually using the facilities, I decided to quit the gym and cycle and run more. This was my intention but the actualisation of it has been a whole different matter. I really enjoy cycling apart from the numb feeling in my behind and the inevitable waddling afterwards. On the other hand, I do not like running at all. I look like a lap dog looking for a trough of water to greedily slurp on, not pretty at all! But I feel I need a combination of cardiovascular exercises to speed my circulation and metabolism, so cycling and running it is, as unsightly as the latter may be.

I’ve successfully come up with a number of excuses that have kept me from getting out and getting fit. They range from ‘it’s raining’ to ‘it’s too sunny’, from ‘I’m tired’ to ‘I just can’t be bothered’. Unfortunately for me, the pounds have started creeping on, stealthily but steadily. I don’t really have the luxury of not doing anything exercise-related as I will just gain weight. I worked too hard losing my pregnancy weight to let it all pile back on again. So I’m getting up and doing something about it.

As with all things in life, when you work towards a goal, your objective is usually more easily achievable. So Mo’Cushla has suggested I work towards a half-marathon – 13 miles! Right at this moment, I probably couldn’t run a mile, much less 13 but I’m going to take it one step at a time. I will start by simply building up stamina and not worry about the distance. As I gain stamina, then I will start to concentrate on increasing distance and speed. We haven’t agreed a time frame for this goal yet but a voice in my head has warned me at the risk of death by strangulation that it’d better not be any time this year and I wholeheartedly agree!

I will try to keep you posted on my progress but if I don’t, feel free to ask about it. I find accountability to be a great tool in motivating me to achieve my goals.

Tara for now and thanks for stopping by.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “No pain, no gain

  1. Well done, Nkem. I wish you success.

  2. Keep us updated. You seem focused and determined, and that’s always a good start to achieve any goal. Congrats in advance 🙂

  3. Lola Adedoyin on said:

    Well done!

  4. Shade Olutobi on said:

    Well done Nkem!!! Keep up the good work!

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

