The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

I’m thankful …

…That last Sunday marked 46 years of my parents’ marriage. Theirs is truly one made in heaven. They share a closeness that is so rare in today’s highly divorce-prone society. Even when they disagree, you still get the feeling that they are on the same page. Growing up observing their relationship gave me a vivid picture of what I could aspire to and I’m glad that my marriage so closely mirrors theirs.

…For my very active and verbally expressive sons. When I hear of children their age who are suffering from ill-health, starvation, poverty etc, I realise that it could so easily have been them. Even though I’m sorely driven to gag them sometimes, I am grateful that all their limbs work, that their senses are intact, that they have a voice and know how to use it and that they can articulate themselves and express their opinion.

…For the special man God caused me to cross paths with 8 years ago and who remains the love of my life, my best friend and lover. He loves me too much to let me be content with mediocrity, he challenges and encourages me while patiently giving me room to grow and become all that I can be. He exasperates and frustrates me no end sometimes but the good far outweighs the bad so I really can’t complain.

…For friends, old and new, too numerous to mention by name, who love me ‘despite and still’. They try to be there for me ‘through sick and sin’ encouraging and cheering me on, accepting me for who I am, warts and all.

…For blogging as it has ushered me into a whole new world of writing and opened up countless possibilities. Amongst other things, it’s helped me to become a part of a wonderful support group of like-minded writers. They critique my work with the empathy of people in the same boat and offer advice that is helping me become a much better writer.

…For sisters, biological and social, who love me and whom I love dearly, with whom I can be silly without fear of being judged and laugh hysterically as we reminisce about our growing up years. We could be sitting across from each other in a crowded room but still manage to communicate with just a look.

…For God’s grace and mercy which are renewed in my life each and every morning.

…For life, for love, for friendship and for laughter.

What are you thankful for?

Thanks for stopping by and tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “I’m thankful …

  1. Mo'Cushla on said:

    First ………………..!!!
    And I love you too…

  2. Joxy on said:

    Nkem,
    I’m thankful that we met, that being your charming self you looked past my standoffishness and won me over, that we are friends, that you are an inspiration to me in this our writing journey, and that I am one of your ’10’.

  3. Christine on said:

    Nice one , Nkem . Congrats to your parents… may they get to the big 50 and beyond.

  4. Christine on said:

    …For my children, their dad and a lot more, I remain grateful to God.

  5. I am thankful for the Love, Mercy and Grace of God which I enjoy abundantly! I am thankful for life. I am thankful for my family, friends and loved ones. I am thankful for ME!

    Congrats to your parents! The Golden year is just round the corner and they will live to see that day in Jesus Name! AMEN!

    Stay blessed!

  6. Globetrotter on said:

    I am thankful for life, love and friendships.
    Wishing your parents many more happy years together!

  7. That’s a good list of thanks you have. I’m very thankful for my life and health, without which I wouldn’t be able to do anything else. I’m thanks for the internet, which is my favourite hangout these days (can someone say, geek). For family, friends, admirers and well-wishers. For my characters whom I can hang out with when I’m feeling alone on a rainy day and can’t go out … to you for this post 🙂

    E

  8. There’s definitely a lot of things to be thankful for. Congratulations to your parents!

  9. God bless you, your beautiful family and your precious parents. May God’s goodness continue to be with you so that you always have reasons to be thankful.

  10. Thankful for meeting you my namesake through blogging and many other things. I thank God for your parent’s marriage and for blessing us with partners who are always there. (Yes, Mocushla, I see you…lol)

  11. Really lovely post…..and your parents are an inspiration – to all of us married couples who are struggling to remain sane. LOL

    As for me, I am thankful for my health; for my sons who are healthy, loving and smart AND…………… I am also thankful for my hubby who lets me be me. Not an easy task LOL

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

