The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Writer’s block / Lack of inspiration

All of last and a little into this week, I suffered both writer’s block and a lack of inspiration. Writer’s block is described as a temporary psychological inability to begin or continue work on a piece of writing. Lack of inspiration is pretty self-explanatory.

As a result of this incapacitating combo, I didn’t put up a post last week and since I’m still not fully recovered (that’s my story and I’m sticking with it), I decided to share a few cartoons instead. Enjoy!

.

 

What do you do if/when you get writer’s block?

Thanks for stopping by.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Writer’s block / Lack of inspiration

  1. adaeze on said:

    I wonder if its possible for one to be plagued by ‘reader’s block’? I haven’t settled down to good reading in a while, thought to get past that by giving your blog a read and there you are recovering from a writers block! Lol

  2. Adaeze’s comment on “reader’s block” suddenly has me thinking (Lol). How am I dealing with my Writer’s block? By being goofy about it. And doing lots of reading and resting too.

  3. How I deal with writers’ block?
    I take it as a sign that there is nothing interesting enough to be written about.
    If something moves you…you will def write
    xoxoxo

  4. Time out is what I do. Just chilling, TV, books, family time.

  5. I bake, cook, and read. Oh, and eat….loads.

  6. I watch movies, read books, basically chill out. Or better still, I write a different story. πŸ™‚

  7. Wow, the house sure is clean these days. I’m guessing you have writer’s bock again. Am I right? LOL.

    I think I handle writer’s block in different ways, but the most common is to acknowledge that I’ve got writer’s block (and not that my talent has abandoned me) πŸ˜‰ and then stop all manner of attempts at writing, binge on TV shows and books until I start missing writing again.

    Discussing the story with friends helps too. When I talk abt my WIPs, I get excited and that helps too

    Empi

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

