The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Safe place

I take my boys for swimming lessons once a week. One of the first things they were taught was about the ‘safe place’. They were encouraged to hold on to the walls of the pool. Their instructors explained that this was to provide the children a place to come back to should they ever find themselves in trouble in the water. If they got used to doing this, then it would become second nature to them.

I didn’t quite know what my next blog post would be about so I missed my weekly schedule. I was also getting a bit overwhelmed by all the things that were keeping me from writing. I’ve been falling behind on some of the other goals I set myself this year and it’s left me feeling disquieted and unsettled.

To settle my disquieted heart, I started to wonder what I could do to help me re-focus and get back on track. I took stock of where I’d lost my way and was reminded that I, too, have a ‘safe place’.

My ‘safe place’ is my relationship with God. I find that every time I’m out of sync with Him, my life just doesn’t make sense. Things don’t add up. I may expend all my energy doing things but all the effort seems fruitless. I find myself unable to find contentment and peace eludes me.

As I meditated on my life, a portion of Scripture which has brought me much comfort over the years came to mind. Psalms 61(AMP);

1HEAR MY cry, O God; listen to my prayer.

2From the end of the earth will I cry to You, when my heart is overwhelmed and fainting; lead me to the rock that is higher than I [yes, a rock that is too high for me].

3For You have been a shelter and a refuge for me, a strong tower against the adversary.

4I will dwell in Your tabernacle forever; let me find refuge and trust in the shelter of Your wings. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!

5For You, O God, have heard my vows; You have given me the heritage of those who fear, revere, and honour Your name.

6May You prolong the [true] King’s life [adding days upon days], and may His years be to the last generation [of this world and the generations of the world to come].

7May He sit enthroned forever before [the face of] God; O ordain that loving-kindness and faithfulness may watch over Him!

8So will I sing praise to Your name forever, paying my vows day by day.

Even though I may feel overwhelmed by life, I know that if I just hold on to my ‘safe place’, the Rock that is higher than I, I will find comfort and strength for the next phase of my life. So I’m holding on for dear life.

What, who or where is your ‘safe place’, if you have one?

Tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Safe place

  1. I really liked this
    My safe place is also with God
    Whenever I feel I am slowly losing my grip on this crazy world – I drop to my knees and pray. Really PRAY!
    After that, I grab my boys for a cuddle.
    The next thing is ice-cream …………………..and suddenly the world seems sane again! LOL
    Have a lovely weekend
    xxxxxx

  2. God is also my safe place, my faith stabilizes me when all seem to be falling apart. Have a restful weekend dear.

  3. Psalm 91 is my all time “rock” scripture. I felt led to read and meditate on it for a whole month last year. When I left Nigeria for the UK many moons ago, my awesome mum waved me goodbye with psalm 121, nicely tucked away in my little bag. Much love Njide

  4. God is always a refuge. I find myself drawn to the Bible when things start to appear bleak and meaningless. (And then I start to feel guilty that I do not turn to God enough when things are going well. This, I am constantly working on improving!)

    Another phrase I always try to keep in mind is ‘THIS, TOO SHALL PASS!’. That really helps me.

    Have a lovely weekend, discovering more about safe places!

  5. You’ve got that right. There’s only ever one true reliable unshakeable ‘safe place.’ The important thing is to never walk away from the covering of His safety.

  6. Oh, my safe place is certainly with the Lord…thanks for this piece.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

