The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Spreading the G O _ _ _ _ ; Gospel or Gossip

Did you ever play the game ‘fill in the blanks’? The one where you were given a few letters of words and had to complete the rest? Well if you never did, here’s your chance.

I was listening to Creflo Dollar preach a while ago and something he said gave me pause for thought. He said some people like to discuss other people’s mistakes but never remember to consider the possibility that these people may have asked God’s forgiveness.

It set me to thinking that in spite of our call as Christians to spread the gospel, we tend to spend our time spreading gossip instead.

I remember a time when I was so excited about my salvation, I wanted to tell everyone I knew (and even those I didn’t) about it. I couldn’t bear the thought of anyone in my sphere of influence going to hell. I didn’t always know the right words to use nor did I always know the right moments to bring up the topic in conversation. But I made an effort to let people know what I believed and hoped that they, too, would come to share my faith.

I have to admit that it isn’t the same anymore. I find I have come to take my salvation for granted and am much less fired up about sharing my faith. I tend to hide behind the fact that people will somehow see that I am different, ask me why and then I’ll take the opportunity to tell them about Jesus. I must confess that this happens seldom these days.

When I carefully scrutinise my conversations these days, I am ashamed to say that I spend much more time talking about the goings-on in people’s lives than the gospel. This is a sad but true fact.

I started by asking if you’d ever played ‘fill in the blanks’, now is the time to actually play it. They are both six-letter words starting with the letters ‘g & o’. One means ‘good news and unquestionable truth’ and the other ‘divulging personal information about others, often malicious.’ Which do you actually spend your time doing? Are you spreading the gospel or gossip?

If, like me, you realise that you have been doing the latter, now is the time to repent and make a concerted effort to do the right thing. Ask for the grace to fulfil the great commission. Look for opportunities to share your faith with friends, family and colleagues. As with everything, practice makes perfect. The more you do it, the easier it becomes.

My prayer is that the next time you get a chance to play ‘fill in the blanks’, the word will spell ‘GOSPEL’.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Spreading the G O _ _ _ _ ; Gospel or Gossip

  1. Very true, Nkem. I remember those days. It seems a lot of times we speak about people without realising what we’re doing constittutes gossip.

    PS. you said they both start with ‘g’ and ‘o’ but it’s actually ‘g’, ‘o’ & ‘s’ 🙂

    Great post. What struck me the most is this part: I tend to hide behind the fact that people will somehow see that I am different, ask me why and then I’ll take the opportunity to tell them about Jesus. I must confess that this happens seldom these days.
    How convenient that would be! But the real issue is, if people aren’t coming up to us to ask what our ‘secret’ is, could that be a reflection on the actual life we are leading?

  2. Hmm! Empi, you’ve given me even more food for thought and an ‘ouch!’ moment. It may well be the life that is not truly reflective of the profession hence no curious inquirers as to my secret. Hmm! This is a hard saying!

  3. What an apt post. Thanks for the encouragement.

  4. How come I missed this? Well said.

  5. hmmmm…how true. so true, it feels like a slap in the face…thanks for this reminder Wordsmythe.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

