The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Kiru Taye’s ‘His Treasure’

I’m pleased and very proud to announce the imminent release of ‘His Treasure’. It’s historical romantic fiction set in the region now referred to as South Eastern, Nigeria or Igboland and is part of the 3-book Men of Valor mini-series written by Kiru Taye, who happens to be my friend. (A hint of name-dropping here, as you do Winking smile). It is being published by Breathless Press

 

kt_histreasure_453x680

I love reading romance and historicals so a combination of those two genres is Christmas-come-early for me. I’ve been privileged to read a pre-published copy of this book and can assure you that you are in for a treat served up with extra dollops of romance. Here’s the blurb;

In a time when men ruled their households with firm hands, can a quiet man tame his rebellious wife with persevering love?

Angry at being forced to marry a man not of her choosing, Adaku stubbornly shuns her new husband on their wedding night. However, she soon discovers there are worse things than giving in to a man whose touch awakens her deep desires. In a land where fruitfulness is celebrated, she could soon be labeled a barren woman.

Obinna knows there are several ways to tame a rebellious woman. Patience and perseverance are two of them. Adaku is his treasure and he would never let her go. When her fears push her into his arms, will he be able to convince her to stay with him forever by unleashing the passion within her?

It’s out on the 2nd of December 2011.

I highly recommend you grab a copy as soon as it’s out. I can guarantee you won’t regret it. Trust me, I’m a bibliophile!

Thanks for stopping by.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Kiru Taye’s ‘His Treasure’

  1. A big thank you! I’m blushing here with all the love.

  2. I kept forgetting to comment on this.

    It looks pretty good but the glaring plot hole in this story is this: “Angry at being forced to marry a man not of her choosing, ”

    Traditionally, an Igbo woman could NOT be forced to marry at all, much less marry someone she didn’t like.

    Using peer pressure to guilt her into marrying someone she doesn’t want is of course a different story, but if this story is based on traditional Igbo culture (at least before the British came and ruined everything), then it’s pretty unrealistic.

    An Igbo woman who wanted to remain single would remain single in spite of what anyone thought. Unless she was forced to marry out of financial circumstances or some other sort of extenuating circumstance, and even then, Igbo women are traditionally the bread winners of the family and are responsible for making the vast majority of a traditional Igbo family’s money and other wealth so there’s really no reason why she can’t just go out and work if it’s because of money.

    Just saying. I haven’t read it yet so for all I know she might have had to marry him for spiritual reasons because a Dibia said it would be bad fortune if she didn’t, but I just think it’s important to point out that for a book that claims to be set in a time of traditional Igbo culture, it’s based on a really shaky premise.

    • Hi sugabelly,

      Thank you for commenting about my book blurb.

      I find it interesting and rather amusing that while you claim the premise of the book is ‘really shaky’ you still go ahead to dismantle your argument yourself.

      First you say it is ‘pretty unrealistic’ for an Igbo woman to be forced into marriage. Then you argue it is possible through ‘peer pressure…, lack of financial circumstances or some other sort of extenuating circumstance…’ to quote your own words. So which is it?

      As you haven’t read the book, your blanket statements about it being unrealistic are pretty unfounded. I would suggest you wait till the book is released, buy it, read it and then we can have this conversation again, if you wish.

      Thanks again for stopping by.

      Kiru.

      • When I said “forced” I specifically meant a situation in which a woman’s family or parents might order her to marry a certain person. e.g. Emeka is going to be your husband end of story.

        And I did give provision that this might not be the case in your book. I said I have not read your book so for all I know that might not be the situation. I said IF that is the premise the book is based on THEN it is shaky.

        And peer pressure is not the same thing.

        There is a HUGE difference between a woman marrying a man she does not want to marry because she sees all her friends are getting married and wants to belong too (peer pressure) and her being ORDERED or COMMANDED to marry a man she does not want to marry with no hope of refusing (force).

        You cannot possibly mean to argue that a woman marrying an undesirable mate out of financial necessity or a feeling of social inadequacy is the same as being unable to defy a command by her family to marry.

        It’s absolutely not the same thing. And my initial statement still stands.

        An Igbo woman in a completely traditional Igbo setting being forced to marry a man she doesn’t want to marry by her family or someone else’s command is unrealistic.

        And like I said previously, since I haven’t read the book, that might not be the case, and in the book she might have married him for a whole bunch of other reasons. I won’t know until I read the book.

  3. In reply to the comments I’ve read here I need to say that good fiction is not about being realistic; rather, it’s all about being believable. Is Harry Potter realistic? Or Lord of the Rings? NO! But it’s believable. I don’t know a lot of ibo history; but I’ve read the draft and I was convinced. That to me makes strong Fiction – the ability to imagine and create a whole new world that many will swear is true. It’s a Fictional novel, and in fiction, anything goes, so long as (again, I emphasise) it’s believable!

    • I think you’re missing the point Lara.

      I never said anywhere that “good fiction was hinged on being realistic”.

      I said the “premise of an Igbo woman in pre-colonial times being forced to marry a man she doesn’t want to marry” is unrealistic.

      Whether or not the story is good fiction is a different matter altogether.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

