The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

NaNoWriMo

First let me start by apologising for missing updating the last two weeks. I could give you reasons but they would really just be excuses so I won’t bother.

Welcome to the most special month of the year, November. It is the penultimate month of the year. If you are still struggling to achieve goals you set in January, you still have sixty-odd days to attempt to do so. It is the beautiful time of year when fall/autumn gives way to winter and it officially marks the start of the extremely magical Christmas season. But best of all, it is the month in which I was born. Even the founding fathers of the United States of America acknowledged how special it is by setting aside a day in it for Thanksgiving.

This year, November is also special to me because I’m taking up the NaNoWriMo challenge. NaNoWriMo is an acronym (or whatever the word is for making up another word with the first two or three letters of other words) for National Novel Writing Month. It is an annual internet-based creative writing project which challenges participants to write 50,000 words of a new novel between November 1 and November 30.

The project was created by Chris Baty in 1999 with about 21 participants. In 2010, over 200,000 participants signed up to take part and almost three million words were written. To read more about it, please check out the website and the wiki page.

This is a really big step for me. My writing has come a long way this year but this will stretch everything in me even further. Finding time to write approximately 1,667 words a day in addition to all of the other things I have to do will be a challenge. But it’s one I take on with a mix of apprehension, excitement and great expectations.

This cartoon very aptly portrays my sentiments towards the challenge.

I don’t make any promises about the quality of the words and how they will be strung together but I will endeavour to keep churning the words out in a bid to meet the target by the 30th of November. I’m pleased to say I’ve made a great start today with 1,765 words. Long may the words continue to flow (and make sense).

Feel free to ask me how I’m doing. You never know I might even be persuaded to post excerpts on here.

Thanks for stopping by and tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Kudos on taking up the NaNo-thingybob challenge!

  2. Yay… Def the best month of the year. November children ROCK

  3. And by God’s grace, you would be done even before 30th… *wink wink*. Trust its going on well

  4. Thanks for inspiring me to sign on too, and for nudging me with that writing challenge. You are a great support group all by yourself, wishing you every success as you write this month.

  5. Just checking to find out how it’s going. Trust you are making progress

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

