The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Still at it

I’m still in the thick of my NaNoWriMo challenge. I’m sorry if you’re fed up of reading about it. However it is probably all I’m going to manage to blog about this November.

I’m making good progress and have written 39,281 words of my novel. I’m thankful for how well it has been going in spite of life getting in the way.

It’s funny how I’m able to squeeze in the time to write everyday because I’m determined to complete the challenge. I get a high from checking the word count feature at the bottom left-hand corner of Microsoft Word as I type and see the numbers climbing higher and higher. It is quite intoxicating and inspiring. Never has a little gizmo such as the word counter given so much pleasure.

The emphasis of this challenge is quantity not necessarily quality. For now, my sole focus is to write at least 50,000 words by the end of the month.I will worry about all the do’s and don’t’s of writing come December. It is after all, a first draft. Editing, fine-tuning and all the other bits that go into making a draft publishable will come later.

In the meantime, in the words of Nike, I’ll just ‘write’.

What have you been up to this month of November? Please share.

Thanks for stopping by and tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Still at it

  1. It’s full steam ahead for you. Well done. I’m really proud that your pushing yourself with this. You’ll reach 50k in no time.

  2. Well done, we shall soon toast to your complete MS 🙂

  3. Trust you are making so much progress and almost done. Just checking. Tada

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

