The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

2011 in review

Dear readers,

2011 was an amazing year! I set myself a few targets at the start of the year and I’m so pleased to report that I did hit them.

I took up a challenge at church to read the Bible through in a year. This was no mean feat especially when it came to books like Leviticus! Many times I fell behind and had to read several chapters at one sitting just to catch up. However I was determined not to give up and with God’s help, I made it.

In February, in a bid to write more regularly, I took up the WordPress challenge to blog every week. Though I didn’t manage to blog every single week, I did get round to writing 63 posts thus exceeding the targeted 52! Besides blogging, I completed one novella and one novel and also made great progress on another.

I signed up to the National Novel Writing Month to write a 50,000-word novel during the month of November. I blogged about it and have been posting excerpts of the story so you probably already know that I completed that as well.

Let me take this opportunity to thank my top commenters, Joxy, Globetrotter, Myne, Kiru and Deronk. Your feedback is invaluable and reading it warms my heart every single time. Thank you for your support and encouragement. May this year bring you much joy and success in all your endeavours.

I am aware that not everyone who reads the posts comments so I would also like to thank everyone who visited the blog last year. Thank you so very much for stopping by and taking the time to read what I write.

Please spread the word and share this blog with your friends and family to help make 2012 an even more productive year for this blog and for me as a writer. I look forward to the post announcing a publishing contract really soon 🙂

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for my blog and I’d like to share it with you. Please enjoy!

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Syndey Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 8,800 times in 2011. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 3 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “2011 in review

  1. Kaodi Ugoji on said:

    Congratulations big sis….I am indeed very proud of you!

    I am also very glad that all those years of torturing us (by correcting our every sentence when we were just ‘trying’ to gist!!!) is paying off now….see, every dark cloud has a silver lining!!! 🙂

    Though I do not comment on your blog often enough, I have read everything you have posted (many times on my blackberry, this being one of those times!) and must say I have thoroughly enjoyed every one of your posts.

    As for that publishing contract…I know, and am sure that you will get one soon enough ‘cos the world needs to enjoy what we have been enjoying here! When that happens, you know I will stick very close to enjoy the bright lights and ‘effizy’ that goes with hanging out with a published author (wink wink), as when I did have the opportunity to be published, I went with writing on boring old finance issues so missed out on all d fun!!! Well since we can’t all be witty and smooth, allow me to live vicariously through your writing!!!

    This post is this long ‘cos it takes care of all my intended comments during 2011! I will try to comment more often in 2012 and hopefully try not to make the ‘epistle’ review an annual occurence.

    Enough said…keep up the good work!

    Love u loads!

  2. Olive Iluyomade on said:

    Wow!!! Nkem, I am so PROUD of you. You have done a wonderful job and I pray that God will enable you to achieve even more in 2012. I know it would not have been easy for you to make these acheivements what with all the other responsibilities you have but you have shown that through determination and God’s help everything is possible. You have also proven that you are a ‘real woman’ by displaying your ability to ‘multitask’. I know that those contracts are coming. I can’t wait. I also want to commend Aji for encouraging you to bring out what you have in you and allowing you to be who you are. Say well done to him. He is a wise man.

  3. Congrats Nkem, and I wish you an even more successful 2012!

  4. Congrats. Have a great 2012. Hope to read more and more every week this year

  5. Congrats, Wordsmythe! I’ve only just seen this. You are a truly gifted writer and I know you are living your passion. Not many people have that luxury….

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

