The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Lucky seven–Dead man walking

I’ve been AWOL, I know and I apologise profusely. This blog is long overdue an update and while I was considering exactly what to blog about, the perfect opportunity to dust off my keyboard fell into my lap.

Kiru Taye tagged me on this fun thing making the rounds in the writing circuit.

Here are the rules:
1. Go to page 77 of your current manuscript
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy the next 7 lines – sentences or paragraphs and post them as they are written. No cheating.
4. Tag 7 authors

I have already posted my last manuscipt so I’ve chosen another one – Dead Man Walking which is a fictional story about infidelity, forgiveness and redemption. It isn’t complete yet and only goes up to 74 pages at the moment so I’ve cheated a little and gone to page 67 (It still has 7 in it!).

This is a conversation between Funmi, the heroine, who’s recently found out she’s pregnant, and her best friend, Timi.

 

“It’s just that I get tired really quickly now but I’ll take that over puking any day.”

“I’m relieved to hear that. Does this mean you’re eating regularly now?”

“Yes o! As a matter of fact, I think I’m eating too much and I’m going to be as large as a house by the time the baby comes out. My appetite, these days, is something else. And I don’t mean just for food!”

“Hey! There’s such a thing as ‘too much information’. I’m still single and desperately trying to remain celibate so I could do without the image of you and Dapo going at it like rabbits! It’s a good thing you can only be pregnant once at any one time otherwise you would be the next octo-mum!”

 

And now I tag the following;

JustJoxy

Toks

Abimbola Dare

Nwuye

Sifa

I know this falls short of the required 7 but hey, who’s counting?

Tara for now.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Lucky seven–Dead man walking

  1. No one is counting, and that’s what I’m hoping for too. This is a fun excerpt.

  2. Wahala.You have exposed me for all to see. The manuscript is not up to 77 pages long. Asiri ti tu, akara ti fo sinu epo!.Thanks for the tag. *deepsigh*

  3. Translation please!

  4. LOL.I remember those two.When are you going to finish their story?

  5. You tagged me! Either you have great faith in me or you really want the akara to disintegrate in the hot oil like justjoxy put it. I’m also relieved to learn that page 07 will work too!
    Thanks! Now I can’t wait to read Dead Man Walking.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

