The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Random ramblings

Forgive me if this post seems rather disjointed, I’m in a funny place. Please permit me to ramble.

Last Thursday would have been my friend’s, Femi’s, 42nd birthday. She died on the 24th of November 2010, a few months after she’d turned 40. She was on Facebook. Facebook doesn’t know she’s dead. An automatic notification was generated reminding all her Facebook friends that it was her birthday. Sigh! I miss her. Terribly. But I didn’t write on her wall. It’s not like she’d read it and reply anyway.

We’re having a grey and windy day here. The clouds are pregnant with rain drops and will birth them any minute. I once read somewhere that when it rains, it means God is crying. I don’t know about that but I do envy those clouds. I bet they’ll feel much lighter once they shed the heavy load of all that rain.

I haven’t been to the gym in a while.My right knee suddenly started to swell and hurt a little. I ignored it and carried on working out. But the voice of reason finally got through to me and I went to see a doctor. He prescribed some anti-inflammatory medicine and asked me to stop all load-bearing exercise until the swelling goes down. Five weeks later, it’s still swollen! I’m suffering from a deficiency of exercise-generated endorphins.

I haven’t done much creative writing this year. And it’s not for want of trying. It’s not writer’s block or anything like that. I just feel like I’m in limbo and until I find some direction, I won’t be able to move forward. I’m trying to edit the manuscripts I’ve completed already and hope that once I start pitching those to publishers, I’ll be able to write some more.

In more uplifting news, Acer Aspire has been replaced, thanks to Mo Cushla. Her replacement and I have since been getting acquainted. Acer Aspire lives on via her hard drive which was rescued. I have to think of a fitting name for AA’s successor, I can’t exactly call her AA too. Any suggestions?

When I feel out of sorts, I listen to music. All kinds. Music has a way of lifting up my spirit. So while trying to make sense of my befuddled soul and muddled brain cells, I’ve been listening to some.

This one, called ‘Mighty to save’, by Laura Story was sent to me by a friend a week or so ago and I’ve been playing it over and over again. Beautiful lyrics! Thank you, you know who you are Open-mouthed smile

This next one is ‘Arms of love’ by Amy Grant. It takes me back to my early days as a new Christian and my university days way back in …Ah! but that would be telling now! It’s quite old and the quality isn’t great. It reminds me of God’s unconditional and unfailing love for me especially when I’m most undeserving.

This last one is called ‘That Stupid song’. I love it simply because it is that…a stupid yet lovely song.

I hope you enjoy all the songs.

I’m feeling much better than when I started this post.

Thanks for stopping by.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Random ramblings

  1. May the memory of your friend keep your heart open.
    Go back to the doctor about your leg oh!
    Enjoyed all of the music too!
    We need the funk to stimulate our creative side and achieve greatness but only once in a while….be well!

  2. Hello dear, may your friends rest in peace. Just go with the flow till you get your groove back. Life always has a way of sorting itself out…..go back to the doc about your knee, get another opinion if necessary. Hugs

  3. Blessing on said:

    *Hugs* Feel better! I pray that God grants you peace that surpasses all understanding!!!

  4. CityDiva on said:

    Hi Wordsmythe, I do think about Femi from time to time. I think about those she left behind too. I often wish I had called her more, gone to visit more etc. Its a reminder to appreciate those who are with us here today. I also feel like I am in limbo, waiting for something to happen. I have tried to tell myself live life to the full, now, each day. Hasnt quite happened yet. I too need direction from above. Dont want to waste anymore time, miss anymore opportunities. That this life my count for something. I trust in the fact that Abba Father has a plan for me and that which concerns me. Hope your knee gets better real soon, as count down is about to begin 🙂 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

