The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Breath-taking moments

My boys have a friend over today. It’s half-term and his parents are at work so I agreed to watch him today. My boys are besides themselves with joy.P1010227

Time was, when they had a play date and I would be hoarse from shouting above the din just to be heard. By now, I would have settled a thousand squabbles, soothed many a perceived injury and wiped gazillions of tears. Today, they’ve been entertaining each other. As I write, they are watching TV, quietly, together. No arguments about what to watch. No disagreements about who sat where first. Bliss!

I wish I could say today is a typical day but it’s not. It’s one of different kinds of days that we have. Some days it seems like they wake up with the sole purpose of making my life miserable. They moan and complain about everything from the clothes they have to wear to the food they are given to eat, their manners go AWOL and they make such unpleasant company. Nothing I do on a day like that is good enough. On days like that, I struggle to give thanks for them. I feel like running away from the responsibility of raising them. I’m tempted to hide under my duvet till the day passes. But I don’t. I remind myself that ‘this, too, shall pass.’ I dole out one disciplinary measure after another accompanied by the appropriate ultimatums. I steel myself against the whining and whinging and mutter “Lord, give me strength” under my breath. And when I finally put them to bed and they sleep off, I go downstairs, sit on my favourite end of the sofa, prop my feet up on a stool, exhale and thank God that we made it through the day with neither filicide nor matricide being committed!

On other days, they have so much energy to burn, I get exhausted just watching them zip around the house. If the weather is agreeable on such days, I engage the services of my trusty friends, also known as bicycles, scooters, paddling pool, trampoline and best of all, playground/park. If it is one of the typical British days, when even the skies are sad and weepy, then I sometimes put on some music and do silly dancing with them, play games and/or put on a movie. When all else fails, I clock-watch and pray fervently for bedtime.

It is a combination of all of these kinds of days that make up our wonderful life and I’ve learned to roll with the punches. I’m so thankful to have been blessed with WEO and EDU. I look at them and shake my head in wonder at how much they’ve grown. I’m amazed when they express the thoughts churned out by their hyperactive and inquisitive brains. I’m overwhelmed when they reach out to me and express love with an unsolicited cuddle, an unexpected kiss or words of appreciation like “Mummy, you’re the best cooker in the world,” or “Thanks, Mama, you’re the best!”

IMG-20120606-00757Yesterday, EDU, who turned 4 a few weeks ago, learnt to ride his bike without stabilisers. I’m so proud of him.

His big brother, WEO, who will be 6 in just over two weeks, is getting so independent. He is learning to tell the time, can bathe and dress himself with little or no assistance.

They are growing up so fast! I remember when they were totally dependent on me for everything. Now, they can do so much for themselves.

Time goes by really quickly! It goes by in little and, subsequently, large increments starting with nano-seconds becoming seconds, then seconds turning into minutes. The minutes soon become hours which then burgeon into days, weeks, months, years making up the sum total of a lifetime.

As I reflect on ‘our days’, I’m reminded of the popular quote of uncertain origins, “Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away.”

Tomorrow may be one of those days I dread but I won’t worry about that for “…sufficient unto the day is the trouble thereof.” Matthew 6:34.Today, I’m experiencing a breath-taking moment and I am thankful.

What’s your day been like?

Thanks for stopping by.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Breath-taking moments

  1. Lol @ best cooker! My kinda guy! Was just negotiating with Big G for a couple more hours in each day cos when I start, I am mostly overwhelmed by how much I need to do and even though I miss out on some, I’m always amazed at how much I got done at the day’s end. Only now, its getting to me and I would like some alone time so I need a few more hours. Getting the strong reasons ready as required in Isaiah 41:21….will let you know how it goes! Always good reading!

  2. Joxy on said:

    The trials and overwhelming joys of motherhood :).

  3. This feels so wierd because it seems you are me….?!!!!!!!
    Seriously though, you have described everything that happens in my home.
    Like you, I have only boys (3) and my days range from bliss to mayhem.
    They are now 12, 9 and 6 ……………and they seem to need me less.
    However their energy levels are UNBELIEVABLE.
    All my planning skills are used up planning activities to occupy them. (Summer is already planned :)))
    I feel overwhelmed sometimes but nothing beats a heartfelt hug from a child on a really difficult day
    God bless all parents

  4. I(F)O on said:

    Firstly, I must say,I especially like the photo. and totally agree at how much theyve grown! we had a playdate last Friday, not a squabble! totally UNBELIEVABLE. I am more agreeable to playdates now, given how much of a challenge these things can be for me*wide grin*. And finally another THANK YOU! for having him 😉

  5. CityDiva on said:

    I am looking forward to all of it, the good the not so good, the bad and the down right ugly.:-) 🙂

  6. Mine’s almost 18 months years old and we cannot afford to have another right now but I am aware that he needs to have someone else other than me to play with especially on days like this i.e. rainy and grey when all I want to do is write till my fingers fall off.

    Lord give me strength. Give me patience as well, please. And thank you!

  7. Adaku O on said:

    ooh the joys of motherhood aye?
    loving your blog so far

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

