The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Improving on the silence

A Spanish proverb I love says “Don’t speak unless you can improve on the silence.” That’s my excuse for not writing a post for just over two weeks. I had nothing to say, so I said it. Now that I can improve on the silence, I’m speaking.

And it’s good news too! I’ve got a publishing contract! Yay! It’s for my romantic novella titled ‘Closer than a brother’.

It still seems a little surreal. This is something I’ve dreamt of for so long, now it’s finally happening, I’m walking around in a daze.  Reminds me of a Scripture from Psalms 126:1 “When the Lord turned around the captivity of Israel, we were as them that dreamed.”

I completed the manuscript last June and after letting a few people read it, just left it alone. I started to write another one in November, you might remember I blogged about it a few times and even serialised it on here.

I finally decided to do something with the first one in June this year. I was tired of replying “soon” every time I’m asked when my book would be published. With the help of an already published friend, I chose some publishers whose submission guidelines I felt my manuscript met, and after agonising over writing a synopsis and query letters, sent it off to them.

Within a couple of days, I received acknowledgements of receipt from all but one of them. They mostly thanked me for submitting to them and said to expect a decision within 6 – 8 weeks.

To my surprise, I got a reply from one of them a week after, saying they loved the manuscript, it is “a page-turner” Open-mouthed smileand they would love to publish it subject to some changes. I was over the moon but I decided to wait to hear from the others.

Two weeks later, I got a rejection email from another publisher. Though it was a no, the email was very positive and pointed out things I could do to make the story better and wished me every success in the future. I was disappointed but not overly so, the first email had given me the confidence that my work was publish-worthy.

A week after the rejection, I got an email from another publisher saying they would like to offer me a contract for the manuscript. Wow! I was blown away. After reading through the contract and also having a lawyer friend interpret the small print, I decided to go for it. Publication date is March 8th 2013.

In the meantime, my editor (oooh, sounds so nice to be able to say that Smile) will be working me on edits and all the stuff editors do. We’ve just completed the first round of edits.

I shall keep you posted on the progress of things but thought it only fair to let you, my extremely loyal and supportive readers, know about this wonderful development.

Have you any news to share? I’d love to hear it.

Thanks for stopping by.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Improving on the silence

  1. Congratulations!!! Yoo hoo!!! May your gift continue to make room for you! I knew you would be published one day and the day has come!!!! Very very encouraging. Very well done indeed!xxx

  2. Congratulations again!!! Great to look forward to a specific date but methinks a lot more’s gonna happen afore then……fingers crossed, 😉

  3. nnenna on said:

    BIG CONGRATS DEAR. GOD IS INDEED FAITHFUL.

  4. Njide Egbuna on said:

    WELL DONE!!! we rejoice with you my dear,. Always knew it would happen…in due time.

  5. Nkem, you are an inspiration…Congratulations.

  6. Oh wow!!!!!!!! Congratulations Nkem, truly happy for you 🙂

  7. Christine on said:

    Congrats, Nkem ! This is good news. More….more…:)

  8. Chi-Chi on said:

    Congratulations!! Can’t wait to see it in print

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

