The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

A new era

It’s the end of an era and the beginning of a new one. School resumed today for the kids. Well, it resumed for WEO who’s in Year 2 now. His brother attended ‘big’ school for the first time.

P9040103

I say the end of an era because both boys have moved on from nursery school. So it’s the start of a new one with both of them now at primary school.

Seeing EDU dressed in his uniform this morning sent me looking through photographs of years gone by. As I went through the pictures, dormant memories of nappy-changing, sleepless nights and zombie-like days, crying babies and a host of others were brought to the fore.

I’m thankful that we got through all those days (and nights) in one piece. I’m thankful for the boys’ development and progress and I’m looking forward to the challenges and triumphs of this new era.

Life is constantly on the move, even when we think things aren’t moving, they are. Seasons come and seasons go. Summer, here in the UK, passed in a hodgepodge of heavy, flood-inducing downpours and glorious sunshine in a way that is quintessentially British.

Autumn will be upon us in a few weeks. The luscious green foliage will metamorphose into golden yellow, burgundy red and burnt orange. Redundant leaves, having outlasted their usefulness, will be evicted from deciduous trees. The landscape will be dotted with the gnarling, naked branches of oaks and birch. A few evergreens will remind us of what once was and what will be again.

250px-Hapgood_Pond_-_Flickr_-_USDAgov

Soon dusk will make an early appearance, putting an end to the long bright days of summer and ushering in the cold winter chill. Once winter arrives, our thoughts will turn to Christmas, the end of the year and the beginning of a new one. And the cycle of life will continue.

Anyway, now the kids are back to school, I need to focus on my writing a lot more. I hope to be a lot more productive than I have been in the last six weeks.

Enjoy the last few weeks of summer and thanks for stopping by.

Second photo courtesy Wikipedia

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A new era

  1. Your boys look delightful
    I know what you mean about ‘end of an era’
    My eldest moved to secondary school next year and I thought ‘things must get simpler’
    One year on and I have to say ‘simpler’ is relative
    LOL

  2. They are so cute. I’m not looking forward to fall, but it has to come first, right? 🙂

  3. I practically fell into this blog… I don’t want to stand up (thank you very much)… *Now reading post No. 7*

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

