The Wordsmythe's Weblog…

…On Words, Love and Life

Forever Grateful

It’s Thanksgiving today in the United States of America. Historically, it was a day set aside to thank God for deliverance from war and natural disaster. These days, it’s a holiday usually marked with an over-indulgence of more food than the average family can eat in a week and overnight queuing at shopping malls for Black Friday sales.

It isn’t a holiday in the United Kingdom but I’ve chosen to celebrate it along with my friends and family stateside, minus the turkey and trimmings. I’m celebrating the spirit of the holiday by thinking back over my life and all the reasons I have to be thankful. It’s by no means a perfect or problem-free life but it’s my life and I’m so very grateful to be living it.

I’m thankful for my family;

  • For my husband, Mo Cushla, for putting up with my shenanigans and for making marriage a delight.
  • For my sons, who make everyday an adventure with their antics, their humorous take on life, their affection, their curiosity, their joie de vivre and for making me a proud mama.
  • For my parents, my sisters, my in-laws and other relatives for though “blood makes us related, love makes us family.”

I’m thankful for my friends, some of whom I haven’t even met in person yet, thanks to the wonders of modern technology, have gone on to become very dear to me. For these people who love and exasperate me in equal measure and to whom I so generously return the favour of exasperating and loving; of whom the words of Mary Ann Evans aka George Eliot ring so true;

“Oh, the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person, having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but pouring them all out, just as they are, chaff and grain together, certain that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and with a breath of kindness blow the rest away.”

For the dynamics of friendship which sometimes play out like a soap opera complete with melodrama, hysterics and cliff-hangers but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I’m thankful for the brains and brawn of inventors and pioneers in technology. For men and women like the Wright brothers for the airplane, Mary Anderson for the windscreen wiper, Alexander Graham Bell for the telephone, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, Mark Zuckerberg, the Winklevoss twins and all those who work unrecognised and unacknowledged in the background for significantly impacting the way we communicate and live today.

I’m thankful that I live in an age with so many opportunities within reach; opportunities to learn and improve my craft, to communicate with friends and family both far and near as though they were right next to me in my living room.

I’m thankful for the challenges of difficult people and situations that I encounter because, as trying and tiring as they can be, they help me develop character and make me a better person.

I’m thankful for all of my life’s experiences, good and bad. I may not understand why I had to go through some of them but looking back now, I can see they’ve all worked in my favour, shaping me into the person I am today and equipping me for the future.

I’m thankful for you, my readers. As I pointed out in my last post, there’s a myriad of material you could be reading right now, yet you’ve chosen to read mine. Thank you for your continued support, you make it all worthwhile.

I’m most especially thankful to God for loving and accepting me just the way I am while constantly encouraging and challenging me to be the best I can be.

So on this day of thanksgiving, I give thanks with a grateful heart.

Here’s wishing all my friends and family in the United States of America a wonderful holiday. May the good always outweigh the bad and may you continue to have several reasons to be thankful.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Forever Grateful

  1. Had I seen this, I would not have bothered to write my blogpost of today….Nkem is such a great English-speaking writer and she does for me, lots of stuff that I need and can’t find time to go apart to do. This Thanksgiving, you are part of my reason d’etre…..

  2. CityDiva on said:

    Wordsmythe thank you for a beautiful write up,I am not American but my heart is filled with gratitude as well, its been a year of new beginings and new opportunities. I am grateful to God for my relatives who survived ‘Sandy’. They had no electricity for 2 weeks but came up trumps solely due to Gods grace. I am thankful for family and some really cool friends.I am thankful for Gods love grace and faithfulness
    I am thankful for that which is to ‘come’ 🙂 🙂

  3. Familua Esther Omobolanle on said:

    Though not American but as fellow citizen of this world l sincerely rejoiced and thankful to God for my friends in NY and all the Americans. May He accept the offerings and His love will never cease.

I'd love to hear what you think. Please leave a comment.

